Can you import e-books purchased from SONY into LOGOS?

Page 3 of 3 (56 items) < Previous 1 2 3
This post has 55 Replies | 3 Followers

Posts 12
Timothy J. Minter | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Feb 6 2010 4:07 PM

Jack Caviness:

Valentin Suprun:
EULA enforceability is a wide-open question with more wrinkles than a prize Shar-Pei.

Should be really be more concerned with what we can get away with than with what we agreed to when we purchased the product?

If it were a mutually-agreed upon contract, as opposed to a "license agreement" that I only saw after paying for the software, you might have a point.  Speaking as a legal professional, I never agreed to give up my legal rights to format-shift **for personal use**, and will continue to do as I please on my own machine - although you should continue to do as your conscience requires.

Posts 3742
BillS | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Feb 6 2010 4:18 PM

Timothy J. Minter:

Under what statute is it illegal to change the format of a book I lawfully purchased ***for personal use only***?

I'm not sure you really want an answer. If you don't, read no further. If you do, it looks like there are 2 parts of the Logos EULA that some who converted a copyrighted Logos book would violate. (Going from Sony to Logos, you'd probably also need to consult the Sony EULA.)

The Logos EULA can be found here: http://www.logos.com/ArticleViewer/440 

And this is what looks to be applicable (emphasis added):

THINGS YOU MAY NOT DO

The Software, Content, and Documentation are protected by United States copyright laws and international treaties. You must treat the Software, Content, and Documentation like any other copyrighted material--for example a book. You may not:

- copy the Documentation,

- copy the Software or Content except to make archival or backup copies as provided above,

- modify or adapt the Software or merge it into another program,