Upset with Logos going from 4 to 5

Page 1 of 1 (15 items)
This post has 14 Replies | 1 Follower

Posts 7
Clayton Sanders | Forum Activity | Posted: Fri, Feb 1 2013 7:47 AM

I am a seminary student and a full time minister. Last year I purchased Logos 4 and it has greatly improved my ability to study the Bible and prepare sermons, lessons, and homework. Thank you for building an amazing product.

First, I want to state the majority sentiment that I hear from my fellow students. We are upset about the shift from Logos 4 to 5. The "upgrade" pricing is unfortunately upsetting to those of us who have only had Logos for a year or so. Had I known that Logos 5, after the upgrade consideration, would cost similar to my full Library to begin with, I would have found a way to upgrade to platinum before the change from Logos 4 to 5. By what I read, I was under the impression that Logos 4 would still be supported. I assumed falsely that this meant the Logos 4 packages would still be offered for a time, side by side with Logos 5. Unfortunately, most new students in our language courses are choosing to use other software and internet sources. This shift is due firstly to professors no longer requiring Logos due to the growing cost. The professors only did this as a response to the students cries that the software was so expensive. Not only did this negate the "mandatory" software class discount, but since it is being used by fewer students, even fewer are buying it. Once again, I am a fan of the Logos software and I applaud the efforts of the staff. I just wonder if other seminaries are experiencing the same fall out as ours. I would imagine seminaries are the bread and butter of Logos. But, as in all things I can very well be wrong.

Thank you for your work in opening God's word to so many people who would have trouble studying in the depth that you make available.

God Bless,

Joe Sanders

Posts 11433
DMB | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Feb 1 2013 8:04 AM