Recommendations for Logos Training - Seminary & Ph.D Studies

Page 1 of 1 (14 items)
This post has 13 Replies | 2 Followers

Posts 5
Nathaniel J. Garcia | Forum Activity | Posted: Sat, Nov 1 2014 3:02 PM

Hey everyone,

About 2 months ago I bought Logos 5 Portfolio and then just upgraded to Logos 6 Portfolio so I'm still very new to the software. I primarily bought it to help with my master's degree studies and my upcoming thesis preparation.

I'm looking to find some recommendations on good training programs for Logos. Most of what I have seen recommended or that Logos advertises does not ever come close to the depth of study that I'm looking to engage in.

Basic word studies, translation comparisons, and other common applications that laity and pastors would use Logos for are not sufficient for my needs.

The optimization of Logos resources would be probably be a good place to start. My library is close to 6000 resources and unfortunately the videos I've seen cover optimization for much smaller libraries or for altogether different purposes.

I'm also looking for some advanced training on the exegetical functions the linguistic search functions. I hear a lot about how powerful the search is and the software appears to really have the ability to weed through all the resources well but my understanding of how to search, for my needs is, undeveloped.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? Resources that are not too expensive, or that are free, would be great. My investment in Logos has been pretty costly already. I do understand that additional investment for training is needed I'd just prefer not to drop another $250-$500 doing that.

Thanks!!!  

Posts 9479
Forum MVP
Mark Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Nov 1 2014 3:15 PM

Nathaniel,

I have never taken a class nor attended a training event for Logos Bible Software, but I'm sure some of those who've attended will give you their input.