Personal Book Builder: Initial Observations and Issues

Page 1 of 1 (20 items)
This post has 19 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 82
David L Adams | Forum Activity | Posted: Wed, Jun 1 2011 6:20 AM | Locked

As a seminary professor, I am quite pleased to see the first release of the new Personal Book Builder (PBB) tool in L4B6. For a 'first go', I thought it worked pretty well, and I am very excited about the future possibility of being able to distribute course materials to students in this format (and to some day being able to create resources for my classes that take advantage of Logos's abilities). Here are few initial observations and notes on the process.

What Worked

Most of the basics.

Most of the formatting was preserved.

Links to biblical passages were properly handled.

I was especially pleased with the way that PBB used the heading paragraphs in the document to build a table of contents in the side panel.

Given the very poor support in the Mac version MS Word for Hebrew (no right-to-left text entry and poor implementation of Unicode text layout features), I was pleased to see that the character layout of the Hebrew in the generated documents was actually better than the Word source document (but see below).

What Did Not Work

Some paragraphs that had spacing before and after the paragraph specified lost that spacing in the conversion process. This was inconsistent, as some paragraphs preserved the specified spacing. Most did not.

Embedded graphics in the original document were lost.

Footnotes in the original were lost.

Paragraphs of Hebrew that were formatted as right-justified text in the original document became left-justified text (the Hebrew itself was OK, but the paragraph justification was lost).

Miscellaneous Thoughts

This is a great first step.

It would be great to be able to add links to other resources in Logos. Will this be possible down the road?