Response to Covid-19: Missa Cantata In the Time of Pestilence (Dominican Rite)

Page 1 of 1 (9 items)
This post has 8 Replies | 0 Followers

Posts 28738
Forum MVP
MJ. Smith | Forum Activity | Posted: Wed, Apr 1 2020 5:24 PM

DOMINICAN RITE MASS LIVESTREAM: Saturday, April 4, 10:30am PDT | The monthly #DominicanRite Mass at St Albert's Priory, our house of studies in Oakland, will be a Votive Mass in the Time of Pestilence. The celebrant will be Fr. Augustine Thompson, OP of the Dominican School of Philosophy and Theology. To join the friars in prayer, go to livestream.com/opwest.

Orthodox Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: "To be a theologian means to have experience of a personal encounter with God through prayer and worship."

Posts 2540
David Ames | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Apr 1 2020 5:59 PM

Have set an alarm to remind me to join.  [10 PDT   11 MDT   12  CDT  01 EDT]   - Will someone please check my math - thanks

Posts 28738
Forum MVP
MJ. Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Apr 1 2020 6:31 PM

Looks right to me.

Orthodox Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: "To be a theologian means to have experience of a personal encounter with God through prayer and worship."

Posts 3479
SineNomine | Forum Activity | Replied: Fri, Apr 3 2020 6:44 PM

David Ames:

Have set an alarm to remind me to join.  [10 PDT   11 MDT   12  CDT  01 EDT]   - Will someone please check my math - thanks

10:30 AM PDT -> 11:30 MDT -> 11:30 Saskatchewan -> 12:30 CDT -> 13:30 EDT -> 14:30 ADT.

Posts 2540
David Ames | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Apr 4 2020 11:34 AM

MJ. Smith:

Thanks. Not what I would have done on a normal Saturday afternoon. Was blessed for watching

SineNomine:

My times were when I had to set the alarm for to not miss the service

Posts 28738
Forum MVP
MJ. Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Apr 4 2020 2:23 PM

It was fascinating to see how spare they were able to make it in keeping with the social distancing guidelines.

Orthodox Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: "To be a theologian means to have experience of a personal encounter with God through prayer and worship."

Posts 3479
SineNomine | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Apr 5 2020 5:57 AM

MJ. Smith:
It was fascinating to see how spare they were able to make it in keeping with the social distancing guidelines.

I watched as well. I'm not sure how different it was from how it would have been in the absence of the pandemic.

Posts 28738
Forum MVP
MJ. Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Sun, Apr 5 2020 3:09 PM

SineNomine:
I'm not sure how different it was from how it would have been in the absence of the pandemic.

I am familiar both with St. Albert's and with the movement to keep the Dominican Rite alive, having been in a West Coast Dominican parish for nearly 50 years and having been involved in one of the early Masses arranged to keep the Rite alive. I can assure you they used the minimum number of ministers, combining what would normally be separate ministries.

Orthodox Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: "To be a theologian means to have experience of a personal encounter with God through prayer and worship."

Posts 165
LogosEmployee

Thank you for posting a link to this, MJ.

Page 1 of 1 (9 items) | RSS