Angry God

Page 1 of 3 (45 items) 1 2 3 Next >
This post has 44 Replies | 4 Followers

Posts 225
Michael Birney | Forum Activity | Posted: Mon, Mar 15 2010 7:27 PM | Locked

(stretching the forum guidlines, if this gets deleted, I understand)

I'm studying God's grace, and the question of God's anger has been coming up.  Below are 2 resources from L4 - one a book quote, one a list from a search.  

The question - can a loving God that has my best interest at heart really be angry enough to pour his anger out on a person or group of people.  

I am not the crazy man on TV that says God is punishing Haiti for sins with an earthquake, not inferring that, in fact, I guess I am asking how do you intellectually debunk that crap .  The question might be asked - how is God's love shown when he floods the whole world and kills everyone except Noah and crew?    

Maybe a list of resources that you have read that have helped you deal with this would keep it inbounds.

Couple of resources I've looked at (I've looked at a lot more, just throwing something in).

libronixdls:jump|pos=LLS-AOL:0<CAT891.B.2.C>.0.0|res=LLS:COLLINSTHESBBL

libronixdls:jump|pos=LLS-AOL:0<PT.1.2>.2.0|res=LLS:40.170.4

If you think this is out of bounds let me know, I will delete it.

Posts 5337
Kevin Becker | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Mar 16 2010 5:41 AM | Locked

My response to this would probably stretch the forum guidelines too far. drop me a line at beckerkr AT gmail dot com

Posts 3163
Dominick Sela | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Mar 16 2010 5:48 AM | Locked

I can offer a book that helped me a lot with this question (hardcopy only, not Logos format - sorry) -

"How Big Is Your God?: The Freedom to Experience the Divine" by Paul Coutinho

http://www.amazon.com/How-Big-Your-God-Experience/dp/0829424814/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1268743545&sr=8-1

it's a very easy read, but very inspiring...

Posts 3915
Forum MVP
Friedrich | Forum Activity | Replied: Tue, Mar 16 2010 6:09 AM | Locked