Greek Verb Principle Parts - Word Study

Page 1 of 2 (27 items) 1 2 Next >
This post has 26 Replies | 2 Followers

Posts 3
Stephen Rogers | Forum Activity | Posted: Thu, Feb 14 2013 9:13 AM

I am surprised that I'm not given the principle parts of verbs when I hover over them (and especially surprised that this info doesn't come up when I do a word study).  Am I missing something?  This would seem to be invaluable info for anyone trying to read NT in Greek.

Posts 26619
Forum MVP
Dave Hooton | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Feb 14 2013 5:43 PM

Welcome Stephen

I'm not a language expert, but Logos has:-

• Grammar resources for the student
  • Word/Vocabulary Lists  that can be constructed (& printed) from a Morph Search eg. @V???1S  (all first person singular verbs)
  • Analytical lexicons that can be accessed from a Word Study (in the Lemma section)

Also, there are wiki articles on the features of Logos.

Please ask if you want to know more

Dave
===

Windows 10 & Android 8

Posts 9947
George Somsel | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Feb 14 2013 6:15 PM

Stephen Rogers:

I am surprised that I'm not given the principle parts of verbs when I hover over them (and especially surprised that this info doesn't come up when I do a word study).  Am I missing something?  This would seem to be invaluable info for anyone trying to read NT in Greek.

You're probably looking for something simple and straightforward without any clutter, but I would suggest a good Greek-English or Hebrew-English lexicon.  By that I mean BDAG for Greek and HALOT for Hebrew.  Don't accept substitutes (because there really aren't any).  These do give the principle parts.

george
gfsomsel

יְמֵי־שְׁנוֹתֵינוּ בָהֶם שִׁבְעִים שָׁנָה וְאִם בִּגְבוּרֹת שְׁמוֹנִים שָׁנָה וְרָהְבָּם עָמָל וָאָוֶן

Posts 15805
Forum MVP
Keep Smiling 4 Jesus :) | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Feb 14 2013 10:53 PM

Stephen Rogers:

Welcome Smile