Accidentally Prioritized 3000 Books

Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
This post has 11 Replies | 2 Followers

Posts 6
Thomas Sipe | Forum Activity | Posted: Wed, Oct 25 2017 11:21 AM

I accidentally prioritized ~3000 books. Is there any way to clear the prioritized list other than one at a time?

Posts 5746
DAL | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Oct 25 2017 11:25 AM

Wow, bummer! I thought you could only prioritize one at a time.

DAL

Posts 2711
Erwin Stull, Sr. | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Oct 25 2017 12:31 PM

As far as I know, you can only remove 1 at a time, but PLEASE tell us, how did you manage to accidentally prioritize 3000 books?

Posts 6
Thomas Sipe | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Oct 25 2017 2:10 PM

In a Camp Logos and selected everything that I had previously tagged with the intention of untagging and retagging them. With all of them selected in the library, I right clicked and inadvertently selected “prioritize” and poof!

Posts 715
David A Egolf | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Oct 25 2017 2:27 PM

Thomas Sipe:

In a Camp Logos and selected everything that I had previously tagged with the intention of untagging and retagging them. With all of them selected in the library, I right clicked and inadvertently selected “prioritize” and poof!

So, basically, you are asking for an "unpoof" button? Sad

Posts 17492
Forum MVP
Keep Smiling 4 Jesus :) | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Oct 25 2017 4:00 PM

David A Egolf:
So, basically, you are asking for an "unpoof" button? Sad

Added idea to Logos 8 Wishlist => https://community.logos.com/forums/p/148421/931778.aspx#931778

Keep Smiling 4 Jesus :):
... adding "Unprioritize These Resources" to Library Right Click, which could be like "Hide These Resources" so only appears with modified Right Click.

Keep Smiling Smile

Posts 2711
Erwin Stull, Sr. | Forum Activity | Replied: Wed, Oct 25 2017 6:14 PM

Thomas Sipe:

In a Camp Logos and selected everything that I had previously tagged with the intention of untagging and retagging them. With all of them selected in the library, I right clicked and inadvertently selected “prioritize” and poof!

Wow. This is where we really do need a function to select and remove multiple resources from the prioritize list.

Posts 6
Thomas Sipe | Forum Activity | Replied: Thu, Oct 26 2017 2:46 AM

It would have been nice to have a function to undo my stupidity. But I guarantee that I won’t make the same mistake again. :-)

Posts 715
Cynthia in Florida | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Oct 28 2017 4:28 PM

I did this a year or two ago.  Took me forever to undo just a few.  My "quicker" fix was to delete the program and reinstall.  But...that's my answer anytime I make a huge mistake like this.

Cynthia

Romans 8:28-38

www.cynthiafeenstra.net

Posts 26344
Forum MVP
JT (alabama24) | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Oct 28 2017 4:32 PM

Cynthia in Florida:
My "quicker" fix was to delete the program and reinstall

That would only work if it hasn't synced. Else, it will just download the prioritization list from the cloud when you reinstall. 

OSX & iOS | Mac Logs | PC LogsInstall

Posts 8977
Forum MVP
Mark Smith | Forum Activity | Replied: Sat, Oct 28 2017 4:52 PM

Perhaps there is a way to delete the data file that includes prioritization. You'd have to rebuild all your prioritizations at that point, but it might be the easier task.

Unfortunately, this prioritization data is probably stored with other data one wouldn't want to recreate. Perhaps someone from FL can let us know.

Pastor, North Park Baptist Church

Bridgeport, CT USA

Posts 762
Patrick S. | Forum Activity | Replied: Mon, Oct 30 2017 8:20 AM

If you are on a Mac you could restore from a Time Machine backup - go to a point in time before the big mistake and selectively restore the Logos data folder.

If you are not on a Mac (i.e. Windows) and IF you had previously turned on the 'Shadow Copy' feature built into Windows

http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/windows-and-office/how-do-i-configure-and-use-shadow-copy-in-microsoft-windows/

then you could do a similar thing to restoring from a Time Machine backup - tell the system to restore the Logos data folder back to a point in time.

Shadow Copy is not a well known feature of Windows, it can be a real life saver. To check/turn on Shadow Copy for a volume (hard disk) go to

Control Panel > System > System Protection 

and check what is currently setup for the volume (HDD) Logos is on. A handy tool to navigate to a desired folder to restore is Shadow Explorer.

http://www.shadowexplorer.com/

This could save you - if you had the volume already protected via Shadow Copy.

While you are doing all this it would be a good time to take your account out of the local computer's Administrators group. That can help protect you from ransomware, because one of the things ransomware does is delete the computer's shadow copies. If you are not running as administrator then the ransomware malware can't delete the (system managed) shadow copies.

"I want to know all God's thoughts; the rest are just details." - Albert Einstein

Page 1 of 1 (12 items) | RSS